Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Our family sat around the dinner table the other night. We do ‘highs’ and ‘lows’ taking turns from the youngest to the oldest. When it came to be Ryan’s turn, he’s my junior in high school, he mentioned his low for the day was having to rehearse a rape scene in the Westside Story play.

“Rape scene?” The thud of my heart was like a hammer to my chest.

“Yeah, well, it’s orchestrated to imply that me and this other guy from my gang are raping her. It was awkward. I felt like I needed to apologize to her.”

My throat constricted. “Did you?”

“Yeah, I mean we all felt weird about it. She knew it was just the scene but it made me realize what girls must feel like when that happens.”

My face felt flushed and hot. “I’m sorry you have to do this scene.”

“It’s okay mom. I thought you’d want to know about it before you see it too.”

Your son

After dinner Ryan came up to me and hugged me tightly.

I’ll admit I’ve never watched the movie Westside Story nor have I seen the theater production. I had no idea…how ironic my son happened to be cast in that role.

I mentioned later about contacting the theater director to maybe mention before the production to the audience that there were some scenes that might be offensive but Ryan said I would be overreacting that it was more implied. I’m still pondering…I still have a month before they go on stage.

Thoughts?

I also wanted to take the time to show you are shorter version of the Hopeful Hearts promo video.

Blessings

Shannon

