Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I feel prompted to share with you all this amazing poetry from Diana Rasmussen.  When I read this it grabbed me and I realize how often we might ‘turn the other cheek’ on our ‘neighbors.’  I think about the three women who were recently rescued in Cleveland, OH and wonder how many moments occurred among neighbors that something ‘just didn’t seem right’?

God gave us all a gift – intuition and instinct.  Don’t let these gifts go to waste.  Learn to trust these gifts – they could save your life or others.  There is also a wonderful Safety Plan at the end of this post.

Blessings

Shannon

I’M AFRAID FOR YOUShe lived in the trailer right across the street

not much of a neighbor she kept to herself

When the sun went down the fights would start

noises travel in a trailer park

I went over one day with cookies in hand

saw the fear in her eyes

said I’m afraid for you

I heard what he called you last night

what he’s doing just isn’t right

My door’s always open anytime day or night

I’m afraid for you

That night he came home smelled something amiss

he started screaming and yelling

I heard punching fists

Afraid for my friend I called 911

it was time for this to be done

I’m afraid for you

I heard what he called you last night

what he’s doing just isn’t right

My door’s always open anytime day or night

I’m afraid for you

She stood in the driveway

blood on her white gown

cops took him away

when I said I’m afraid for you

I heard what he called you last night

what he’s doing just isn’t right

My door’s always open

anytime day or night

I’m afraid for you

Part of Diana’s Story:
“I have lived in abuse, years upon years, relationship upon relationship. I have been married – more than once, and I have been divorced – more than once, to abusive men. I have been to the shelters, time and again. I have had restraining orders, had them broken, and called the police again. I have been to court more times that I can count. I have fought for my children and their rights for child support. I had had 3 suicide attempts and thank you Lord, I did not succeed. I have been to the Mental Health Ward – more than once. I have gone to the counselors, taken the “happy pills” and lived in ‘la-la land” for months at a time. I have been treated for depression and at one time in my life, I did not get out of bed for 6 months.
I have laughed, I have cried, I have believed, and I have doubted. But through it all, God has been faithful. He has made a way for me and my children where there was no way. He has protected me and my children supernaturally, more than once. He has provided for us faithfully – oh the stories I could tell! He has restored my peace of mind. I am no longer taking any ‘happy pills’! I do not hear “the voices” in my head that used to scream things at me, or whisper and laugh at me.
I do not live in the land of shame and guilt anymore, I have changed addresses!
I am not that same person. I have lived free from fear and abuse for the last 8 years, and today I can say, because of Christ – I am free!

Thank you Jesus!

A few years back God even blessed me with a Godly husband, one who encourages and supports me.  We play praise music together every week at Church.  It is rather healthy I have ot say and I am forever grateful.  But I had to learn what healthy relationships were and to establish boundaries in my life.

Today, I do not live in fear. Today I am not a victim of abuse, I am a beloved daughter of the King. I am life that God touched, rescued, and changed. I know that God exists, He saved my soul from the pit,  He protected me and my children and I know He will do it for you too!”
Diana’s Bio 
Diana Rasmussen is a Music Minister, Blogger, Poetess, and Recording Artist who uses her gifts to shed light on the darkness of Domestic Violence. At the beginning of this year, God asked her to ‘quit playing Church’ and start to testify about what He had delivered her from. That was the beginning of Prayers and Promises.

Diana Rasmussen is a Soul Survivor, as many of you are too. Her songs focus on overcoming adversity, breaking free from domestic violence, and living beyond depression. Fans have called her songs, “haunting, powerful, and edgy”. Diana sounds like Annie Lennox and Bonnie Raitt, and there is a raw honesty about her lyrics. Diana has many TOP 10 AWARDS from Broadjam, Inc. in the Country, Folk, Jazz, and World Categories.
Currently Diana leads the Worship Team at Janesville Apostolic Ministries in Janesville, WI. She has been blessed to play with her husband Bob, and sing with many Anointed Singers. Diana has been a Music Minister for the last 20years in various churches, shelters, nursing homes, and community meals in the southern Wisconsin area.
To learn more about Diana go to her website:  http://dianarasmussen.com/
SAFETY PLAN
domestic-violence-escape1
