Tags

, , , , , , ,

What a C R A Z Y  week so far! There has been no time at all to write or contemplate what I would even consider writing for a blog this week. Until I heard the prayer shared by Fr. Kevin Story at the St. Thomas High School induction ceremony for the National Honor Society (NHS). Proud of my oldest, Ryan, by the way!! 😉

I closed my eyes and bowed my head softly to hear the pray and this segment of his prayer leaped off the podium and touched my heart:

We ask for strength

and you give us difficulties which make us strong.

We ask for wisdom

and you send us problems, the solutions of which develop wisdom.

We plead for prosperity

and you give us dangers to overcome.

We ask for favors

and you give us opportunities.

Therefore, as the Creator, Redeemer, and Sanctifier of life,

we ask that you bless and assist us according to your will. Amen.

I thought about all the times I’ve prayed for strength, wisdom, prosperity, etc and though I’ve been met with the struggles, problems and dangers I’ve never considered them the answers.

leave everything to God

Even when I have often kidded about ‘never praying for patience because God will put you in a situation to test what patience you have left.’

I’ll be honest for a brief (very brief) second I said to myself, “Don’t ever pray for wisdom, strength, prosperity or patience again!!!”. 😀

Now of course that is not realistic! And just as soon as I said that to myself I was hit with an odd satisfaction for these qualities that are within me. I’m still a work in progress but I’m more prosperous than I was 20 years ago, stronger than I was ten years ago…wiser than I was even last year! Had God answered my prayers forthright I would not be the woman I am today and I am grateful.

Godtrustme

So watch what you pray for…don’t shy away from praying for strength, patience, wisdom or even understanding and prosperity but remember the answer might come to you in a trial. And if it does, be still and remember He is God!!

Blessings

Shannon

Exposed_cover_only Get a copy of EXPOSED for $1.99 on Amazon!

Event-save-the-date

