Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

**Another Flashback post…worth sharing as I think it is important to be reminded that we each have stones that could be thrown in our direction…sometimes when we want to throw that stone at another it is hard, as Christ says, to ‘see the plank in our own eye.’ Something I get reminded of often.**

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A beautiful ( I mean gorgeous ) woman sat before me today and told me her story.  Every person that sits before me and tells their story is gorgeous and radiant in my eyes because they are finding their voice and having the courage to speak their truth (even as ugly as it might be).  It is not easy.  There is no doubt.  No matter what details make up the story, the abuses, the addictions, or the bad decisions we’ve made, the perceived failure, etc, we hesitate to put it out there for fear of judgement.

I think this is why my favorite story from the New Testament is the woman caught in adultery:

A Woman Caught in AdulteryThen each went to his own house, while Jesus went to the Mount of Olives.  But early in the morning he arrived again in the temple area, and all the people started coming to him, and he sat down and taught them. Then the scribes and the Pharisees brought a woman who had been caught in adultery and made her stand in the middle.

They said to him, “Teacher, this woman was caught in the very act of committing adultery. Now in the law, Moses commanded us to stone such women. So what do you say?” They said this to test him, so that they could have some charge to bring against him. Jesus bent down and began to write on the ground with his finger.

woman caught in adultery

But when they continued asking him, he straightened up and said to them,“Let the one among you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone at her.”  Again he bent down and wrote on the ground.  And in response, they went away one by one, beginning with the elders. So he was left alone with the woman before him.

Then Jesus straightened up and said to her, “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?”

She replied, “No one, sir.”

Then Jesus said, “Neither do I condemn you. Go, [and] from now on do not sin any more.”  John 8:1-11

When I had my ‘reversion’ moment, now over 12 years ago, I remember vividly fear kept me from fully accepting I had anything worth offering to any one else. The fear of being judged by what had been done to me and what I had done to myself.  I realized in order for me to heal properly I had to make a vow to do my best and hold back judgement in order to keep judgement from myself.  I won’t sit here and say I’m perfect.  (Because I’m sure I’ll have a HUNDRED comments (finally) letting you all know how I might have judged others.)  However, I will say I’ve done my best to try, which I believe is what has ultimately led me to do what I do today.

And it is exactly why I am so forthright in everything I blog and write about because I don’t want anyone to come back and say “But you don’t know this about her!” Because you can all say “Um, yes we do! and we love her anyway!” 😉 ….right? 😀

doyourbest

After meeting with me this beloved daughter of God text me and said, “It was great to hear your story and understand for the first time (in a long time), that I am not alone.”   AMEN SISTER!

What a blessing!  Another blessing I received today is the next I HAVE A VOICE video.  It is my story of dealing with healing from memories of incest and forgiveness.

Do you ever feel as if a multitude of stones would be thrown at you if your true self were revealed?  Do you hide behind finding fault with others so that you point out their flaws before anyone sees yours?  If so, maybe test the waters and try telling someone whom you trust and love something that you know keeps you from being your true authentic self.  I think you’ll find compassion over animosity more times than not.

Blessings

Shannon

Exposed_cover_only Get your copy of Exposed on Kindle for only $1.99!

 

 

 

Jennikas Copies of EXPOSED and the Hopeful Hearts Ministry CHARMS (necklaces and earrings) are available at Jennika’s!

