Tags

, , , ,

The day began early:

image

I drove 3.5 hours to Waco and left my car at my younger sister’s house while I piled into Heather’s car with clear instructions:  “Don’t try to fix me, or save me and you can’t drive.”

 

image

Being that she was the only ‘family’ that was willing to make this trip with me to New Mexico I smiled and said, “No problem.”  I insisted my 6 month old nephew go with us because I knew they had no one to watch him and I personally needed his sweet, smiling baby face to bring innocence to this whole trip.

 

image

There were a few conversations on the 11 hour drive from Waco to New Mexico that almost crossed the line of ‘faith talk’ ….but she instigated and I wasn’t going to let it go. 😉  Actually I found that Heather and I have a lot in common and for a nice long trip across Texas I felt like we got along pretty well.

image

Riley did amazingly well too.  He watched movies, talked to the little TV screen in front of him and when we would stop for a break we would take him out and let him stretch his legs.

He is one of the happiest babies I’ve ever come across and he made it up to the last hour without fussing.

image

Finally we made it to our destination:

image

After a quick dinner we found our ‘hotel’ that actually turned out to be a ‘motel’ (that was NOT listed this way on line) which has me on edge just a bit….and now I’m listening to the rumblings of a TRAIN that sounds like it is literally outside our door.  :(

image

Blessings

Shannon

