Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

As often as I receive them I will be featuring every Monday one of YOUR stories.  By having a VOICE you are speaking out and helping to heal others!  Yuoranda reached out to me via the Hopeful Hearts Ministry Facebook Page and we realized our missions and stories were similar in many regards.  I knew her story, and ministry, will help many.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

MY STORY:

rhonda professional picI was sexually abused by my step father from age 6 to 16. In addition to the sexual abuse, I was also raped twice, aged out of the Georgia Foster Care System at age 17, a cutter from age 14 to 21, I attempted suicide twice, and constantly saw my mother beaten by my stepfather. Going through all of these trials as well as witnessing my mother turn to alcohol to deal with the dysfunction could have easily destroyed me (and almost did) from the inside out. But it was because of my belief in God and my willingness to forgive & work on myself, that I was able to overcome my brokenness and heal my hurt. Admittedly, the process was not an easy one but I refused to allow my hurt to further dictate my actions or my outlook on life. At what I believed to be my lowest point in life, (homeless in a state with no family & having to beg strangers for food to feed my children) I realized that living life my way was the wrong way. It was then that I decided to face my truth for what it was and allow God to work on me, in me, & through me.

Because there are so many women who have endured the tragedy of sexual abuse and rape and have not healed from their pain, I knew that sharing my voice could possibly help them in some way.

While sitting at work one day, I had the vision to start an organization and Healing R.A.G.E. (Raped & Abused Girls Everywhere) was founded November 2011. Healing R.A.G.E. is a nonprofit organization dedicated to encouraging women who have been raped and abused. We encourage women to get the healing they deserve, so that they can live a life of happiness and have an active role in their healthy living.

Our guiding principle is a scripture taken from the Bible and reads: So encourage each other and build each other up, just as you are already doing. 1 Thessalonians 5:11 (NLT)

Our mission is to aid in the process of healing, happiness, & healthy living by supporting victims through educational counseling and advocating change while raising awareness.

The purpose of Healing R.A.G.E is to help bring awareness to the world about the long lasting effects of rape & sexual abuse when the victim has not healed properly. Also to help those who have been directly affected heal their hurt through positive affirmations, Godly inspirations, and by sharing my story as well a many other survivor stories. It is my dream to help as many women as possible through my Sister2Sister Mentorship Program, Healing Sessions Support Groups, Healing Calls, Awareness & Prevention Seminars, as well as the many programs under our Community Healing Program.

heal rage slogan

It is my prayer that many women will be encouraged to start their individual healing journeys, be able to heal their hurt as well as find their own voices to speak out against abuse and rape.

BIO:healing rage within book

Yuoranda (Rhonda) Walker, a survivor of child sexual abuse and rape, is founder of the nonprofit organization Healing R.A.G.E. (Raped & Abused Girls Everywhere). She resides in Houston, TX with her husband and children. In addition to being a wife and mother, Yuoranda is also a newly published author of her true life story titled Healing the Rage Within which can be purchased on Amazon. Yuoranda, an advocate for abuse and rape, enjoys reading, writing, spending time with her family and just enjoying life as God allows her to experience it. You can read more about her organization online at www.healingrage.org. Her organization is also on Face Book at www.facebook.com/healingrage as well as on Twitter @healingrageorg.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Let’s give Yuoranda some support and comment to let her know how courageous she is not only for speaking out but moving forward to help other women who have been raped and to heal the rage within.

Blessings

Shannon

