Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

‘Even in my darkest days I’m going to keep believing.’ 

spirit snatcherThis morning I was given the gift to catch up with a dear friend of mine who has seen some dark days of her own in the past few years suffering through the ugly ‘spirit snatcher’ otherwise known as cancer. Thankfully her spirit is stronger and built with faithful endurance. She is in remission but her fight was tough and it can be so easy to give up and allow whatever the ‘spirit snatcher’ might be to prevail but when we have faith in Christ we can do all things…even fight the ugliest spirit snatchers such as depression, anger, melancholy, complacency, negativity, fear, selfishness, loneliness and loathing.

Just before we hung up she suggested I listen to a song that she listens to on a daily basis: “Faith is Not a Feeling” by Josh Wilson. I did and I knew I needed to share this today. When a lyric embeds into my heart I know it is worth sharing. ;)

“Faith Is Not A Feeling”

I remember when Your light came in.
I was ten years old with the faith of a kid,
I felt like I could walk on water then,
Wish that I could feel that again.But I have learned that feelings come and go,
And we all know emotions ebb and flow.
Some days I gotta trust what I already know
That You never let go, You never let go.

So when I don’t feel You moving,
That doesn’t mean that You have disappeared.
And when I don’t feel You with me, oh God
That doesn’t mean You’re not here.

So I keep on believing, yeah
Cause faith is not a feeling, oh
Yeah I keep on believing, yeah
Cause faith is not a feeling, oh

There are days I hear You loud and clear,
Like nothing in the world could interfere.
And I can sense You deep, deep down in my bones,
And I know I’m not alone, I know I’m not alone.

But when I don’t feel You moving,
That doesn’t mean that You have disappeared.
And when I don’t feel You with me, oh God
That doesn’t mean You’re not here.

So I keep on believing, yeah
Cause faith is not a feeling, oh
Yeah I keep on believing, yeah
Cause faith is not a feeling, oh

Don’t matter what comes my way
Gonna keep, keep believing
Even on my darkest days
Gonna keep, keep believing

Don’t matter what comes my way
Gonna keep, keep believing
Even on my darkest days

Yeah like when I don’t feel You moving,
That doesn’t mean that You have disappeared.
And when I don’t feel You with me, oh God
That doesn’t mean You’re not here.

Oh when I don’t feel You moving,
That doesn’t mean that You have disappeared.
And when I don’t feel You with me, oh God
That doesn’t mean You’re not here.

So I keep on believing, yeah
Cause faith is not a feeling, oh
Yeah I keep on believing, yeah
Faith is not a feeling, oh

It’s not a feeling
Faith is not a feeling
Don’t matter what comes my way
Gonna keep, keep believing
Don’t matter what comes my way
Gonna keep, keep believing

Here is the YouTube video for those who would like to hear the song as well:

I’m happy to report that praying daily, asking God to take away the ‘spirit snatchers’ from my life has helped me to open the gift of HOPE and realize that even though I might not feel it every day it is there and in the end God’s LOVE and MERCY will prevail in all things.
Gods mercy verse
Keep on believing!
Blessings
Shannon
