Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

God showed up to me yesterday in His word.

love never failsDorothy Maggio, a woman who has lived decades of experience in coming to know the graces of God who has a gentle and pious spirit, gave a focus today in our bible study that burned like a branding iron through the calloused layers of my heart. She gave me permission to share with you what touched me and it is my prayer that somewhere in His word He pierces your heart with His grace in the way you need it most.

That is the wonder of His word, it is timeless yet the life it holds is uniquely deliberate and specific to each person.

She was discussing not putting God into a ‘box’. To let Him out of the box.

Proverbs 3:5-6 says Trust in the Lord with all your heart. Never rely on what you think you know.

There are many verses in the bible to live by. Here are just a few:

You say “It’s impossible.”   God says: Luke 18:27  “All things are possible.”

You say “I’m too tired.”   God says:  Matthew 11:28-30 “I will give you rest.”

You say “Nobody loves me.”  God says:  John 3:16 “I love you.”

You say “I can’t figure it out.”   God says:  Proverbs 3:5-6 “I will direct your steps.”

You say “I can’t do it.”   God says: Philippians 4:13 “You can do all things.”

You say “I can’t forgive myself.”  God says:  Romans 8:1 “I forgive you.”

You say “I’m always worried.”   God says:  1 Peter 5:7  “Cast all your cares on me.”

You say “I’m not smart enough.”  God says:  1 Corinthians 1:30  “I will give you wisdom.”

You say “I feel all alone.”  God says:  Hebrews 13:5  “I will never leave you.”

If you pray for God to always do things for you, you might be disappointed. You’ve put Him in a box. If you thank him for what he has already done, and ask for His guidance in your life, you will be happier because you have taken God out of that box.

God's word

She included a joke in her focus that I feel is a good way to end today’s blog with a bit of a giggle ;):

You are who God says you are. Let me tell you about a woman who took matters into her own hands. She was a middle-aged woman who had a heart attack. She asked the doctor if this was the end. He said no. He thought she had 40 more good years ahead of her. She decided if she had 40 more years she would get a face lift, liposuction and all the plastic surgery to make her look young to really enjoy herself. Just as she left the hospital from her plastic surgeries she run over and killed. When she got to heaven she reminded God that she thought she had 40 more years left to live. God said, “Oh, I’m sorry. I didn’t recognize you.”  :D

Thank you Dorothy for allowing God to ‘show up’ through your focus yesterday. I needed the graces.

Blessings

Shannon

