Tags

, , , , , , ,

Months ago I received the news I was to be recognized by Family Time, a non-profit organization that helps women who come from domestic violent situations and human trafficking, as a recipient of the Women’s Advocate Award at their Women of Achievement Gala.

At the time I was taken aback, what an honor! I don’t do what I do for the recognition or accolades but it was nice to know that the work Hopeful Hearts Ministry is doing as a whole is being felt and acknowledged within the community.

Because of all that has transpired over the past three months this achievement was pushed aside as real life continued to happen.

Finally the night came, catching me with a near miss of having a dress…till I remembered the trusty Rent-The-Runway sight, scrolled through and found my color and a fit I knew would work. (Literally nearly a week before.)

Prom Pict!

My friend, Melisa, did my make up and I tried desperately not to look like an 80 year old going to Prom with my hair…which was not working for me.

image

Neal looked dapper in his Vera Wang tux (quickly rented from Men’s Warehouse) and with the support of good friends, Mitch & Jen Karp,  we whisked away for an evening of good food, some applause and all for a great cause.

image

Obviously there was great joy in receiving the award, but there was an even greater joy in being surrounded by people who wanted to participate in the accomplishment.

image

To have a friend give up her entire morning to make sure I could hide my tired eyes and friends who probably would have preferred jeans over suits and heels join me, and a husband who has supported me in this entire endeavor from day one when I decided to come out and have my voice all those years ago that led to doing what I am called to do today was pure joy to my heart.

Just a glimpse of receiving the award:

God surrounds us with exactly who we need in our lives. We are ONE body, ONE body in Christ and we do not stand alone.

we are one body

Yep, can’t help but share the song. :)

You are never alone, even when you feel it to your core, remember to look up, He will provide.

Blessings

Shannon

