Tags

, , ,

Perfect timing to finish reading “A Search for Purple Cows” a true story of hope.

purplecows

“A wife and mother’s amazing journey from darkness into a life fully restored in God’s light.

A whimsical comment from a kind stranger, ‘Be sure to search for purple cows,’ brings hope to a woman and her children fleeing from a life filled with trouble. In A Search for Purple Cows, Susan Call reveals to the world how painful a relationship can be when love deteriorates into a cycle of abuse and betrayal.”

A Search for Purple Cows captured my attention from the first page.  Sarah Call is honest and raw as she depicts in great detail the process of being emotionally imprisoned within the four walls of her home.  Sarah’s story pushes aside all ill-informed assumptions of women entangled in domestic violence.  There were moments within her story my heart would race because I could completely understand what kept her feet planted instead of running out the door.

“The book began from my desire to share the incredible hope and inspiration I found through the challenging experiences of my life’s journey,” Call explained. “Although many people can relate directly to portions of my story, my hope is that the book will inspire others, regardless of their own life situations. I am thankful that Guideposts gave me this opportunity.”

Call’s many personal encounters with the God who saves is what I enjoyed most about this book.  God caught her attention through a local radio program and her spirit caught on and never let go.  There were moments when she literally heard a whisper instructing her to do something that most certainly saved her life, or at least kept her from an extreme beating.

A Search for Purple Cows is a read for teens and adults educating us all on the truth about emotional and physical domestic violence and most importantly, the saving Grace of God.

Call holds a Masters in Science Degree in Marriage and Family Therapy from Eastern Nazarene College in Massachusetts. She also holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Computer Science from    in Pennsylvania and has studied at Vilundaskolan and Uppsala University in Sweden. She is conversant in Swedish.

A devout Christian, Call now lives in southern New Hampshire with her husband, Jim, and their blended family of five children. She recently launched a blog (www.SusanCall.com) and is available for speaking engagements. When not sharing her story with others, the author enjoys developing her photography skills.

Buy the book and be a part of spreading awareness on domestic violence.

My day was complete when I read this bible verse: “Therefore, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and constraints, for the sake of Christ; for when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Corinthians: 12:10

It is in our weakness that He is strong… Praise God.

Blessings

Shannon

