Tags

, , , , , , , ,

There are moments when I wonder if I’m focusing too much on the wide topic of abuse, that maybe it’s just me being obsessed with the desire to obliterate a behavior that is unstoppable.

Then I hear about the tragic story 20 minutes from my own home where a deranged abusive ex-husband goes on a fatal rampage in search of his ex-wife and kills her sister’s entire family. This poor woman loses her sister, brother-in-law, and 4 nieces and nephews. One of the 5 children in the family survived. A 15-year-old girl who was grazed by the bullet and played dead.

Houston Chronicle article

I was out of town when this took place only to find out about it yesterday. My heart hurts for this loss. For the woman who left an abusive husband because others  finally convinced her the danger she was in, unaware of the true evil that resided within him.

My prayer is for the young girl who survived the horror…and for her aunt, the woman who wanted only to free herself from him. I pray she does not take responsibility for his choices and actions. I pray the whole family feels God’s strength during this difficult time.

It’s times like this that raise the question “What can I do? What can one person do?”

We can pray. We can support. We can listen. We can not hide from the horror. We can remind them of their strength.

Boundless Mercy prayer meeting.

Yesterday I went to an area prayer gathering specifically designated to stopping human trafficking. Talk about a vast industry that seems unstoppable. But one prayer can save one person. One soul. That one soul is worth it.

I’m not obsessed. My eyes are wide open. I’m not hiding from the horror. I’m desperate to save the ‘one’ from it.

We sang this song yesterday. It brought me to tears.
Hope’s Anthem  (This is the song w/ lyrics)

I dedicate it to the family in Spring, Tx.  My HOPE is in YOU God. I am steadfast and will not be shaken.

What can YOU do? Pray
Blessings
Shannon

