Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Proud of my young friend, Caitlin, for speaking out and having a VOICE. I have been working with her for a few years and when she came to me and said she was ‘ready’ to do a video I was a bit apprehensive. She is 18 and it’s been many years 7 years since her assault took place but she is still healing and vulnerable.

She looked at me with determination. “I want to help other girls that are going through what I went through.”

How could I deny her of her voice? We both knew the main topic of her video wouldn’t be about the rapes as most would assume. What has affected her more long term is the bullying and lack of support she received from her peers. It is disheartening to realize that when this unfathomable tragedy can happen to a young girl that she would be pushed around and taunted instead of hugged and consoled.

Caitlin is not the only young woman who I have worked with that has been bullied and harassed by her peers after an assault. It happens much too often. We as parents and a community need to be informed and educate our own kids to stand up for the weary and brokenhearted.

Here is Caitlin’s I Have a Voice video:

If you are proud of Caitlin and would like to leave her words of encouragement and praise PLEASE COMMENT. ;)

Blessings

Shannon

