Tags

, , ,

His word is timeless.  It’s a few days before the ACTS retreat begins.  It has been a labor of love and an immense blessing to direct this team.  But due to my schedule + boys schedule + Neal out of town I wanted to revisit some of what God gave me years ago because He is intentional:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Did you know that the Bible is the #1 best selling book of all time?

The following comes from the The Top 10 of Everything, 1997 (DK Pub., 1996, pp 112-113.)

  1. The Bible “No one really knows how many copies of the Bible have been printed, sold, or distributed. The Bible Society’s attempt to calculate the number printed between 1816 and 1975 produced the figure of 2,458,000,000. A more recent survey, for the years up to 1992, put it closer to 6,000,000,000 in more than 2,000 languages and dialects. Whatever the precise figure, the Bible is by far the bestselling book of all time.”

the word featureSome might argue that so many copies are sold because they are used for proselytizing and are never truly read…and I do know from experience that a Bible can be given as a gift and sit on a shelf gathering dust, and others might keep one on hand for a form of reference.  Regardless, I do find it interesting that God’s ‘Living Word’ has made it into the hands of 6 billion people.  Interesting side note, ,did you know that in 1999 the earth’s population reached 6 billion people?

So in 1992, 7 years before the earth’s population reached 6 billion people, 6 billion copies of the Bible were sold.  I bet if they were to update their numbers on these Google searches you might find that the numbers will still parallel if not succeed the sales to population to this day.

Why am I interested in this little nugget of trivia?  Today I was speaking with a woman in my Cornerstone Bible Study and we were discussing the impact that one sentence in the Bible can have on your life.  How intriguing it is to know that I read the same chapters in James 8 years ago and these passages touched me then in the way that I needed to help change some aspects of my life  and to read the very same passages today offer a separate aspect to the journey I’m on at this very moment.  The Bible is truly God’s ‘Living Word’.   It morphs and grows with the reader, emitting forth food the heart and soul and if you’ve ever been in a deep dark place, often the Bible can be that source of rescue to offer hope.

So keep this in mind, God is always intentional.  It is not by coincidence that He has provided enough copies of His Word for every single person in the entire world to own, or at least pick up and read, a Bible.  Granted, it is by our free will that we have to make that decision to pick it up and read it.  Even if you read it to prove to yourself it’s not ‘real’… I dare you.  I questioned.  I doubted.  I decided to find out for myself and vowed to read the Bible in a year just to accomplish something.  Before I knew it I was face down flat on my floor giving my all to Him.

I encourage everyone to try and make it a habit to get into His word daily.  Your life will forever be changed.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today I shared a verse that grabbed me this morning:

Isaiah 41

and I had a response from a young woman who has acknowledged she has not opened a bible in years.  “I think I’ve lost it,” she wrote, “I read that and my eyes filled up.  I’m speechless and if that’s not a sign I don’t know what it.”

My heart filled with joy because I know God needed her to hear that from Him this morning.

Tell me, how has the Living Word affected your life?  What verse remains with you always?

Blessings

Shannon

