Tags

, ,

“True beauty does not seek attention.”

So many levels this causes my breath to catch.  Initially, when I heard it as I sat with my sons in the movie theater watching The Secret Life of Walter Mitty I thought, “So true.”  You couldn’t help but understand and welcome this bit of wisdom as you watched the movie.

Yet, with another breath I thought, “I seek too much.”

It is that fine line I come across every so often where I re-evaluate where my intentions lie.  Why am I writing this?  Why am I putting this out there?  Why do I do what I do?

It would be a lie if I said only for the improvement of mankind.  Right.  I’m human.  Who doesn’t want some sort of accolade or attention?

Okay, there is Mother Theresa…oh yeah… and Jesus.  ;)

I don’t like the praise, it makes me feel uncomfortable,  but I do appreciate being appreciated.  I strive to appreciate others just the same.

life quote

It is a good day when a funny movie can bring you to such introspection.  Got to my boys too.  When Seth got in the car he said, “This movie makes you want to live life.  Go do things that you want to do and don’t let excuses keep you from living.”

Amen.  I pray that is what my boys seek – a life worth living.

Blessings

Shannon

