Tags

, , , , ,

Rarely am I taken by surprise so when it happens it takes me time to digest and comprehend what has been said or taken place that took me off guard.

Recently I was approached by a gentleman who unwittingly was about give me a gift I never expected to receive.

“I read your book,” he said. “Something won’t leave me alone since I’ve read it.”

When a man tells me he’s read EXPOSED and he talks to me about it usually it’s with sympathy or pity and most often they are uncomfortable.

“You know,” he went on, noticeably uncomfortable,”back in the day when I was a stupid young man there was an instance with a girl that might have been similar. I can’t get it out of my mind since I read your book. I want to apologize to her. What do you think if I reached out to her and apologized?”

Stunned I was unable to answer right away. Immediately I selfishly went to imagining if one of the young men that date-raped me reached out unprovoked to offer an apology. What would I feel?

Validated. Venerated. Victorious.

“Yes, absolutely. I think you should,” I managed to say.

There is more to our conversation that I can’t share out of respect to this man.

He did say this, “Many people say, ‘if only I can touch but one’ and by putting yourself out there and sharing your story you’ve touched many…I know that if you can have the courage to tell the world what you went trough then I can admit my mistakes and make amends.”

In my lifetime I don’t expect to receive an apology from any of those that have harmed me, however, I will accept this man’s apology for my own as I pray you do as well.

image

One last ‘God’ moment… one of my ‘announcements’ is that I have been asked to be Director of our parish’s next Women’s ACTS Retreat (March 27-30). It is a parish retreat and takes a great amount of preparation and time. I’m honored to have been asked and anticipate what the Holy Spirit has in store for our team and for those called to attend. Once I discerned and gave my ‘yes’ to direct this retreat I looked up the readings for that weekend. The second reading is:

For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light, for light produces every kind of goodness and righteousness and truth. Try to learn what is pleasing to the Lord. Take no part in the fruitless works of darkness; rather expose them, for it is shameful even to mention the things done by them in secret; but everything exposed by the light becomes visible, for everything that becomes visible is light. Therefore, it says:l “Awake, O sleeper, and arise from the dead, and Christ will give you light.”* Ephesians 5:8-14

Definite confirmation from God! It is the same verse I use to work with survivors, that I received the title EXPOSED from, and am basing the writing project I’m working on currently. Love these moments. :)

Blessings Shannon

