Tags

, , , , , ,

This morning in prayer I read something that struck a personal cord so I figured since it is how God showed up, I’d share it with you.

Excerpt from the daily devotional “Believing God” by Beth Moore:

September 23rd ‘Now He has reconciled you by His physical body through His death, to present you holy, faultless, and blameless before Him’. Colossians 1:22

“One way God hammered a biblical identity into my belief system was through a number of this and that conversations. When I saw scriptures characterizing a child of God, I constantly sensed Him saying to my heart, “Beth, you are this.” For a long time, I responded, “No, Lord, I am that” – one of the hurtful things I thought about myself.

Months turned into years, and the voice of God grew increasingly consistent: “Beth, when will you ever believe you are this?” He was getting me to the point where, even though I may have felt like a that, he wanted me thinking like a this.”

I can relate to this so well especially in moments when I feel like I failed and wasn’t the example He was calling me to be.

Psalm 139:13-16 You formed my inmost being; you knit me in my mother’s womb. I praise you, because I am wonderfully made; wonderful are your works! My very self you know. My bones are not hidden from you, When I was being made in secret, fashioned in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw me unformed; in your book all are written down; my days were shaped, before one came to be.

This verse is a ‘this‘ given to all of us and so many times I’ve heard and read, even proclaimed and taught this verse and I’ve turned away from the concept of me being ‘wonderfully made’ declaring inside, ‘no…Lord, I’m a that.’

image

However, now I read it with a new heart, one that is willing to try to learn how to reprogram the lies that work hard to cancel out accepting the this.

I hold tight to “my days were shaped, before one came to be.” When we follow God’s way of thinking we can’t go wrong for ‘In His book all are written down, our days were shaped, before one came to be.’

You, my friend, are wonderfully made!

Blessings

Shannon

