Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve written dozens of posts that encourage and proclaim ‘Use Your Voice!’, however, I realize there are select moments when our words should be chosen wisely.

There is strength and power behind our words. Words can heal, uplift, encourage, console, council, and teach. In the same breath (sentence) the words chosen can bruise, scar, discourage, belittle, harm, and simple ruin a good mood in a second.

image

Interesting enough when I get in a vehicle with my husband behind the wheel (and in traffic) we both tend to get in a battle of words. He gets stressed and says things doesn’t even have to be necessarily directed to me, could be to the boys, or even the hundreds of drivers around him. I respond in the same manner because using my ‘voice’ at times gets to my head and I feel the need to ‘direct’ his choice of words. Too much of that and then I lose sight of my choices too.

Ephesians 4:29

Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.

About 30 minutes into our journey together I ‘heard’ my choices before I said them out loud because by that point I was just picking because he was on my nerves.

So, I made a choice to not speak. Are you proud? I know, I know. I’m sure many of my friends are thinking “God really did show up! Hallelujah!”

And in kind I respond, “All right now, hush.”

It’s easy to let a word slip, it’s not as simple to take it back.

Blessings
Shannon

