Tags

, , , , ,

I love to read. In particular I love to read fiction stories and memoirs about every day people that tell the story of a situation they face and learn to overcome. The ending doesn’t have to be a fairy tale, ride off in the sunset, everything is now perfect type of ending. For me it is about entering into the life story of another, journeying with them through a life-altering time, and bearing witness to the moment they recognize what needs to be done to move forward.

There is an exhilaration I receive when the character comes out of the darkness of whatever tragedy, displacement or self-induced sorrow and begins to catch ahold of the little rays of hope that pull them out of the pit. In the end what is left is a time of life that was hard and undesirable and yet the character is better for it because they can appreciate their current status of strength and renewal. Freedom.

Actually, it could be why I love doing what I do with Hopeful Hearts Ministry. When I work with survivors I sometimes speak to them at various stages of their ‘story’ but the transformation is exciting for me to witness.

Today, I received two updates literally one after the other, about two women I’ve been working with. They are both at a chapter in life that is beginning on a fresh, clean page. The chapters of their lives up to this point have had their own tales of abuse, suffering, and bad choices that have kept them tethered to the darkness.

Individually their stories are unique and I wouldn’t dishonor them by trying to clump them together but what was so interesting today is how they both started writing a new chapter in their life by making a move on their own to better their lives and the lives of their family. A page has been turned and it is thrilling for me to be a witness to the insurmountable opportunities and possibilities that lie in wait for each woman.

You can keep staying on the same path and go around and around in circles or you can make a move to go forward and see your life change direction.

You can keep staying on the same path and go around and around in circles or you can make a move to go forward and see your life change direction.

This is so exciting I can hardly contain my enthusiasm and joy! :D To bear witness to survivors who’ve been so covered in shame and lack of worth finally have a moment that they claim the love and dignity they deserve. They came toe to toe with the enemy (as I mentioned yesterday) and are fighting back fueled by the almighty power of God.  And I’m on the sidelines, dancing on my tip-toes unable to contain my excitement hollering out, “Kick some booty and don’t turn back! You’ve got this!”

Can you see me?  Rocky is every survivor I work with...and I'm the ornery old man with the raspy voice telling them to GET BACK UP and GO KICK SOME BOOTY! :D

Can you see me? Rocky is every survivor I work with…and I’m the ornery old man with the raspy voice telling them to GET BACK UP and GO KICK SOME BOOTY! :D

As I told one of the women this morning, “It is so empowering for me to hear. Really it encourages me because you are so active in bettering your life and your kids lives. Makes me that much more encouraged to keep bettering mine, to never stay stagnant, keeping improving.” I want to keep making those page-turning moves.

Are you at a place in life that you know it’s time to make a move and ‘turn the page’? What’s keeping you stagnant? Your life is an active journey not a walk on the treadmill. No one but YOU can make that change. Go with God and be amazed.

Blessings Shannon

