I am reposting this blog because it hit me, especially when I spent a few hours with a group of survivors yesterday. It is a wonder to witness the mixture of raw pain and emotion along with the stamina and grace to overcome. The greatest dynamic of my experience yesterday was being with a 17 yr old survivor along with the group of 40+ yr old survivors and acknowledging the hope the 40+ survivors had for the 17 year old because she is getting help NOW. She is talking about it NOW. She is fighting for herself NOW. The more she talks, the more she heals and the stronger she becomes. She will know her worth, fight for her dignity and respect and bypass the years of bad decisions the rest of us lived through.
I think Diana’s post is beautiful and one we should all reblog and pass on because you never know the ONE you’ll be reaching and saving.
Blessings
Shannon

Prayers and Promises

I’M AFRAID FOR YOU

©2013 Diana Rasmussen

images (17)

She lived in the trailer right across the street
not much of a neighbor she kept to herself
When the sun went down the fights would start
noises travel in a trailer park
I went over one day with cookies in hand
saw the fear in her eyes said

I’m afraid for you
I heard what he called you last night
what he’s doing just isn’t right
My door’s always open
anytime day or night
I’m afraid for you

That night he came home
smelled something amiss
he started screaming and yelling
I heard punching fists

Afraid for my friend
I called 911
it was time for
this to be done

I’m afraid for you
I heard what he called you last night
what he’s doing just isn’t right
My door’s always open
anytime day or night
I’m afraid for you

She stood…

View original post 106 more words

