Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s day 222! Thank you Jesus and all the angels and saints in heaven. 😉

On the way home this afternoon I heard a muffled noise coming from the backseat. When I turned around I saw that it was Seth listening to something on his headphones. I made a gesture for him to pause it to ask.

“It’s Paul Harvey, An Open Letter from God,” he said.

Paul Harvey? I thought to myself. I loved Paul Harvey growing up. It brought back listening in the car with my dad and anxious to get through the boring news to the ‘Rest of the Story’. “How do you know about Paul Harvey?” I asked.

“That Ford commercial, the one about the farmers,” he said. Interesting. So I took the time to find Paul Harvey’s Open Letter from God and listen.

Paul Harvey’s Open Letter From God:

It touched a chord with me today. Growing up I was Catholic by blood now I’m Catholic by internal desire. I broke away from the Catholic faith, from my family’s traditions and beliefs and even from other Christian faiths that I’d experimented with during my high school and college years because I harbored a great amount of anger towards God…and in that same breath of anger a great desire and longing to be accepted by Him – God. To feel what it was supposed to feel like to be His beloved.

When I came to a place in my late twenties that lent to making a choice, a choice of internal spiritual death (which lent to an absences of life that led me to not want to live in this world) or to give faith – belief in God – spirituality – all of the above – a shot, I was awakened by what I can only explain it to be as the Holy Spirit.

From that point on my main call in life was to love others, to do my best not to judge ( because I was the last person to judge) and live my life in a way that would make sure I went to heaven so I could feel the glory I felt in that moment I had on that fateful day back in 2001. Along my journey I knew I needed a ‘religion’ to keep me fed and God specifically called me into where I had been called all along – my Catholic faith.

But I don’t buy into ‘one religion is better than another’ nor do I appreciate the fall out I get from being Catholic by my fellow brothers and sisters in Christ of other denominations. For this reason, I enjoy this message from Paul Harvey.

It is important to take a step back and remember what we are called to do by God and that is to love. To take care of one another and be a support to all.

Listening to this with the boys led to some wonderful conversation. I’d like to hear what YOU have to say. How does this message speak to you?

Blessings Shannon