Tags

, , , , , ,

Brothers and sisters:
Faith is the realization of what is hoped for
and evidence of things not seen.
Because of it the ancients were well attested.

Hebrews 11:1-2

The beginning of today’s second reading is the basis of my daily mantra: Taking one day at a time. Feeling blessed and joyful for what opportunities come my way and recognizing there is so much more in store for my journey that is not yet revealed to me.

Today I attended Mass at St. Thomas High School for the Mom’s Group Welcome Brunch. Celebrating Mass with all of the moms of the kids that attend the high school was a blessing and to listen to Fr. Fulton’s homily reminding us that our child’s journey has been explicitly written and formed by the hands of God. To trust in faith, relishing in the accomplishments as they come and giving way to worry for the opportunities that have yet to come to fruition.

Before I went to this event that I knew was mainly a sucker ‘Volunteer Sign Up’ I sat in prayer and asked God to help me be open to where He needed my time, what collaboration would be both beneficial for me as a mom of a son at the school, to make the most of the contacts that would eventually be made and align with the journey He has in store for me. After the Mass I saw the Campus Ministry Director and walked up to him.

“Hey,” he said. “I didn’t know you had a son old enough to attend here. Last time I saw you, the boys were so young.”

Panic. I tend to have a bad case of forgetfulness and this was clearly one of those times because I could not recall meeting this gentleman. Though it isn’t unlikely. I was in youth ministry with the Archdiocese for over 7 years so I’m certain we’d met at this time. (I’m certain the more I work with him I will remember…my memory is detailed and clear with so many things but with people it can be fuzzy.) I went with it and nodded and he went on to say, “You are traveling all over the world, right? How is everything?”

Again I went with it and before I could get much more out he made the comment about wanting me to help with certain aspects of his ministry in speaking to the upper classmen on the tough issues in regards to chastity and faith, etc. Exactly what I love to do and everything he suggested was dead on to what my ‘hope’ was to use the talents God has given me and still be involved in my son’s school. (Not sure what Ryan thinks about this…but…)

I barely got a word in and the program was beginning so I gave him my card and said our good-byes. I sat down in my seat speechless. I realized God wanted to give me what I hoped for and He also displayed evidence of opportunities that are yet to be seen. Faith. I was so afraid to go to this event and not have any idea of what I should be involved in and do…but I offered it up to God and He took care of it for me!

And yes, I still volunteered to help with Teacher Appreciation luncheon and the big Rodeo Round-Up fund-raiser, etc. I’m not averse to serving in many ways.

I love when the Word becomes alive in tangible ways such as today.

Hebrews 11

How does Hebrews 11:1-2 speak to you? What have you realized? And what evidence have you seen?

Blessings

Shannon

